3 min read

GPA

“Failure should be our teacher, not our undertaker. Failure is delay, not defeat. It is a temporary detour, not a dead end. Failure is something we can avoid only by saying nothing, doing nothing, and being nothing.” - Denis Waitley

I failed my final project, in my first semester at Pitt.

It was very difficult. Part of my problem was not understanding the instructions. The other part was forgetting things I learned earlier and not putting in a ton of effort into reading the chapters. I thought I had to read the chapters in order to grasp everything. The chapters were long. The key points, everything I really needed to know, was on the slides.

But I digress.

I did read the chapters. I read them very quickly. Sometimes I had to read them again. Sometimes I didn’t grok what I read and had to ask about it. Sometimes I had questions about something. All of this could have been avoided, this F on the final project, by reading the chapters over.

I Can Learn From This

Pain

“If you don’t try at anything, you can’t fail… it takes back bone to lead the life you want” - Richard Yates

BigRigg, my professor, was really helpful. I cried. I got a C on my final. It all just sucked so hard. My mom said:

You’re better than pitying yourself. You’re better than a C yes but this is your first time in CS.

BigRigg helped to:

This is the first time you’re ever seeing this. You CAN do this! Don’t let an Intro class get you down!

So I stopped crying and thought about what I could do better.

BigRigg told me the day of the final she knew what my issue was. She told me to get working on Project 3 over the break and we’d sit down and work on it together next semester.

GPA

“Failure should be our teacher, not our undertaker. Failure is delay, not defeat. It is a temporary detour, not a dead end. Failure is something we can avoid only by saying nothing, doing nothing, and being nothing.” - Denis Waitley

I failed my final project, in my first semester at Pitt.

It was very difficult. Part of my problem was not understanding the instructions. The other part was forgetting things I learned earlier and not putting in a ton of effort into reading the chapters. I thought I had to read the chapters in order to grasp everything. The chapters were long. The key points, everything I really needed to know, was on the slides.

But I digress.

I did read the chapters. I read them very quickly. Sometimes I had to read them again. Sometimes I didn’t grok what I read and had to ask about it. Sometimes I had questions about something. All of this could have been avoided, this F on the final project, by reading the chapters over.

I Can Learn From This

Pain

“If you don’t try at anything, you can’t fail… it takes back bone to lead the life you want” - Richard Yates

BigRigg, my professor, was really helpful. I cried. I got a C on my final. It all just sucked so hard. My mom said:

You’re better than pitying yourself. You’re better than a C yes but this is your first time in CS.

BigRigg helped to:

This is the first time you’re ever seeing this. You CAN do this! Don’t let an Intro class get you down!

So I stopped crying and thought about what I could do better.

BigRigg told me the day of the final she knew what my issue was. She told me to get working on Project 3 over the break and we’d sit down and work on it together next semester.

While it sucks, I am better equipped to tackle this problem. I’ll need to if I am going into CS 0401, the Intermediate Programming class at Pitt.